Dementia: Blue Skies Smiling At Me

Yesterday was a good day with lots of positive developments.  When I look back it is a day to count my blessings for the great support we receive from so many quarters.

Early in the morning I discovered something of great interest in my birthplace and promptly booked my place.  It will good to be back in Coventry at the Organic Garden Centre to see how the outside world can be used to have a positive impact on dementia.  We have a lovely garden and are surrounded by lots of lots of places where we can walk.  Now I have an opportunity to learn how we can build cognitive stimulation into taking  fresh air. .

I caught Mel my Admiral Nurse shortly after she clocked in.  We chatted for some time about the need for Maureen’s referral to the Memory Service to be steered to the Home Treatment Team.   we also talked of the progressive nature of Maureen’s condition and the need for me to find additional opportunities for regeneration.

Maureen’s son arrived in time for me to have a further consultation with my physio about the tear in my rotator cuff.  Oliver gave me further coaching on my exercise regime and I feel confident I can avoid the surgeon’s scalpel.

I knew that Maureen would need to rest following her sons visit after a busy couple of hours catching up.  This gave me 8 hours of welcome time-out to do my own thing around the house and catch up with relatives on the phone.

I popped next door to have a chat with Mike and Kate about how things were going.  It’s amazing how time flies with dementia in your lives I hadn’t realised that Kate had not been updated on how things were going since Sunday.  Mike is always in the garage on his exercise bike in the morning and we usually have a word or two.

I managed a good chat with my sister before I called on two experienced hands in the field of dementia.  Maureen’s aunty Clarice and my sister in law Jean are always willing to share their experiences and help mentor our journey.  Then I watched Steven Segal sort out the bad guys and either dropped off or got taken up in Maureen surfacing at 11pm to miss his final move in sorting out a drugs cartel

I seem to have got better at encouraging her to go back to bed when she thinks it’s morning and eventually tucked her up around midnight.  This followed a period of easing her through her confusion of not knowing where she was or who lived here: something that is always rampant when her sons visit.

It’s a lovely bright morning in Cleethorpes.  The sky is blue and the sun is shining :  it’s going to be really ‘Good Friday’ with the Sky Blues on T V this evening.

To finish this post there is a little Easter present for my cyber friend Kate Swaffer:

 

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: Blue Skies Smiling At Me

  1. Hope you are enjoying springtime in England. Have a great Easter!

    Like

  2. Remember Me says:

    Thanks Maddy – have great Easter too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

