Dementia: Looking Back: Looking Ahead (Week 11)

The passage below by Ann Napoletan describes how I feel at this moment in time:

Lost-Innocence_web

We have reached a stage on our journey where a comprehensive assessment of Maureen’s presentation is needed.  Her declining short-term memory and dwindling functional capacity is worrying.  Her emotional state is also a cause for concern.

I am hoping that the involvement of the Home Treatment Team will lead to a thorough assessment of Maureen’s presentation and my approach to providing suppor .  Our Support Plan needs reviewing to ensure the ongoing well-being of Maureen and myself.

It is unfortunate that at a time when we need more involvement of carers our Agency has a shortage of personnel.  Perhaps they need to review why there is such a high turnover of staff when their service users are crying out for continuity of carers.

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dementia: Looking Back: Looking Ahead (Week 11)

  1. Dr Ruth 2point0 (Anna) says:

    Blessed be! It’s so tough, so you must be a very strong person. I’m afraid my dad is losing a bit too and it’s pretty scary

    Like

  2. Remember Me says:

    Hi Anna like us all I do my best but when I’m tired I can lose it as i did for a while last night: we all have our limits!

    Like

  3. Mary Smith says:

    I somehow don’t think the support agencies will be doing any review of the problems of high turnover of staff – staff move on (often to similar agencies) because the wages are pitiful for the kind of work they are expected to do; they receive very little training and even less support. We are heading towards a real crisis and I truly fear for the future.

    Like

  4. Remember Me says:

    That’s right Mary. We are clearly not all in this together as IDS has rightly pointed out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

