Dementia: The Invisible Woman

I have decided to integrate gratitude into my daily posts rather than make Saturday’s a ‘Small Sprinkle of Gratitude’.  I’m taking a leaf out of Jennifer Tucker’s blog with this approach to showing gratitude.

There is always so much to blog about but the bizarre events of yesterday take some beating.  I let Maureen sleep late after her performance of the night before.  I’m sure all great singers need to rest their vocal chords after being on stage for almost three hours.

 Gail or carer arrived on schedule and was off doing our weekly shop.  I decided to put my feet up and must have ‘bobbed off’, as they say round here.  When I came round all seemed quiet upstairs so I let ‘sleeping dogs lie’ for a while longer.  Around noon I went upstairs and couldn’t find Maureen and assumed she’d scarpered whilst I had been in the land of nod.  Gail returned heavily laden with shopping as I began to widen my search. I helped her unload her car and then sped off in ours to look for Maureen in her usual haunts. 

I spent about a quarter of an hour looking for Maureen around our neighbourhood..  A wider search revealed nothing so I returned home in a bit of a panic.  I was about to call the police when I decided to check upstairs once again and found Maureen asleep in bed.  There is only one word to describe what had happened: bizarre – as my search for her earlier couldn’t have been more thorough.

I have no idea what had happened.  When Maureen eventually woke I described that I had lost her; without learning anything new.  The interesting thing is that she went on to sleep for most of the remainder of the day: goodness knows what she had been up to in her ‘absence’.

Measures have already been undertaken to avoid the Invisible Woman getting up to her antics in the future’.  I have activated the alarm on the front door and keys will no longer be so conveniently kept in locks . That should put an end to her going missing or my panic attacks!  I’ve just remembered I need to update my Good Music page and there’s one number that simply has to go on there today.

I slept beside Maureen in bed again last night: ‘very interesting’ as my dear old dad would have said – more on that a little later.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

