Dementia: From Fear to Terror

This afternoon marked a radical change in Maureen’s presentation: from fear to terror.  After we had prepared Sunday Lunch together she said ‘she needed to get back home as her husband would wonder where she had got to’.  I acccepted her reality and she told me that she lived in Coventry with her husband who was a long distance lorry driver.

She was pleased to accept my offer of a lift back home.  I drove around for a short while and she recognised where we lived as we neared home.  I let her into the house and bade her farewell as she entered our home.  She thanked me for the lift and waved me goodbye.

I returned home after a brief chat with my next door neighbours.  Maureen was pleased to see me as she was very frightened and said ‘she had lost her memory again’.  She complained that ‘the hospital had not told her how to get her memory back when she had lost it once before following stroke’. I gave her all the reassurance that I could think of and held her tight.

Maureen ate a good lunch and we watched televison for a while.  As I post this she is sleeping on the sofa.  I hope I am able to get some quality rest tonight.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dementia: From Fear to Terror

  1. Dr Ruth 2point0 (Anna) says:

    Poor thing 😦 can’t imagine how difficult that must be

    Like

    • Remember Me says:

      She’s just woke up from a doze as right as rain. Accepting Maureen’s reality is my only option. Understanding who she thinks I am at various times of the day or night is a little more problematic!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh makes my heart hurt… Sooo fortunate Maureen has you, so understanding, helpful.

    Like

  3. Remember Me says:

    Thanks Lemony your support means a lot. I’m only reciprocating the love she has given to me since we have been together.

    Like

  4. Mary Smith says:

    I remember driving round with dad, ‘taking him home’. The need to go home seems to be a very common aspect in dementia.

    Like

  5. Remember Me says:

    Hi Mary – I think ‘home’ is a place where dementia didn’t feature.

    Like

Leave a Reply

