Dementia: Looking Back: Looking Ahead (Week 7): A Simple Plan

On Wednesday I posted my concern about an unfortunate carer sit on that morning.  ‘Madam X’ was so bad that we told a ‘porkie’ about an appointment with the G P to give her an ‘early bath’.  Her presence was damaging to Maureen causing considerable distress.  I have set a Simple Plan that would avoid such damage in the future.  We all know that ‘Prevention Is Better Than Cure’:

  • All carers need to have had relevant dementia training such as the Level 2 Certificate in the Principles of Dementia Care.  I have completed this free Distance Learning Course with Grimsby Institute.
  • Continuity of carers is essential
  • Our Care Agency need inform us of any changes to their rotas
  • Carers need to familiarise themselves with our Support Plan before they arrive at our door

This is a very Simple Plan that needs to be adhered to in the future.  Maureen needs continuity, with carers who understand dementia, and are familiar with the way she wants to live her life.

Postscript:  I’m exhausted after a marathon return journey from London yesterday.   That was nothing compared to nightmare that followed my return.  I had to call out Rapid Response to help me settle Maureen after my trip.  She continues to be very distressed this morning, and I have to be at my best when all I want to do is sleep.  As the BBC used to say ‘normal service will be resumed as soon as possible’

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: Looking Back: Looking Ahead (Week 7): A Simple Plan

  1. Kathy From CT says:

    Continuity is so very very critical, something I and my siblings struggled with when caring for my mom. Since I was with her 4 of 7 days, I felt the routine I set up should be followed. Wrong! Unresolved childhood issues surfaced and created havoc. Here in the United States we don’t have anything like that Level 2 Certificate….wish we did…it is wise.

    Your blog is one of the very few (for anything) I still follow. I admire your strength and love tremendously.

    Like

Leave a Reply

