Dementia: Saturday’s Sprinkle Of Gratitude (Week 1)

 

From today I have decided to copy an idea from a fellow Blogger and use her theme of ‘Sprinkling Gratitude’ as the focus for Saturday’s posts.   

Life is never easy when dementia is calling the shots.  There are many days when I am consumed with having this unwanted visitor in our lives.  I look at Maureen as she struggles to complete the most basic tasks, and wonder where my highly intelligent wife has gone.  It would be easy to be consumed by feeling sorry for ourselves, and spiral downwards into self-pity.  Then I remember all the things we need to be grateful for in the last few days:

  • To our social worker who returned from holiday on Monday, and within an hour arranged a day’s respite so I can visit my daughter in London.  Also for her sterling work in securing, and processing, our Support Package so sensitively..
  • To our carers who provide excellent support, and share their  knowledge of dementia.
  • To Dr Munjal who gave excellent support, and advice, on Maureen’s presentation.
  • To the Pain Management Clinic who have given me helpful advice, and treatment to address the discomfort in the rotator cuff in my left shoulder.
  • To my Admiral Nurse who Emailed me with helpful suggestions to deal with Maureen’s current concerns.
  • To my sister and her husband who are coming to visit at the week-end.
  • To family members who are in regular contact to check on our well-being.
  • To neighbours who are being extremely supportive, and responding to requests for assistance.
  • To Maureen’s Aunty Clarice who shared her grief over her husband’s passing so thoughtfuly with Maureen.
  • To our mechanic who serviced our car, and carried out repairs so it passed the MOT.
  • To fellow bloggers who continue to post supportive comments, and helpful advice.
  • To Jennifer whose Blog has reminded me to show gratitude with this wondeful video clip:

 

I’m sure I could go on: dementia is a great challenge in our lives but there are many things that we are grateful for as we travel on this journey.

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dementia: Saturday’s Sprinkle Of Gratitude (Week 1)

  1. jennifertucker44 says:

    Thank you for using my idea. I hope this has helped you to be a little happier. All the things you are grateful about sound like wonderful things to be grateful about.

    Like

  2. jennifertucker44 says:

    Would you mind if I reblogged your post on my blog and acknowledged that you have used my idea. I feel honored that you have used my idea and I would like to share.

    Like

  3. Remember Me says:

    Please go ahead and reblog. I’m so grateful to you for the inspiraion: accentuate the postives as you do day after day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

