Dementia: Lifting Mood With YouTube

I have extolled the virtues of YouTube in several posts on this blog.  My earlier post reported on Maureen feeling down this morning; so what follows is how I lifted her mood.

Music once again provided a starting point with Bing Crosby singing a song Maureen’s dad used to sing to her.  After a few from Bing we moved onto Willie Nelson:  I have  a confession to make there; this is a Tango not a rumba!  This allowed us to reminisce about our dancing days.

Finally, I moved onto a French lesson. as I had been speaking in ‘pigeon’ earlier in the morning: much to the hilarity of my French Mistress.  Everything is ‘tres bien’ now: could never remember whether that is a grave or an acute.  Please don’t tell Mademoiselle Maureen.

Hold on it’s another false dawn: she in tears in the room next door.  Maureen is distraught that none of her underwear is comfortable.  I have eased her back to bed knowing that further sleep will help.  Once I wake her, in a couple of hours, with lunch to hand we will start again: fish pie will reach the parts other food never gets to.

 

 

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

