Dementia: Singing For Sanity

Our early morning thoughts and conversations continue to fascinate me.  I’m lying awake thinking about my days machining cylinder blocks, and Maureen is remembering holidays with her parents in the Isle of Man.  Our conversation drifts in the direction of holidays and we discuss various venues.

A couple of hours later after further sleep Maureen is crying saying: ‘I don’t want to be here’.  She then says she wants to see her mum and dad so I hold her tight and she drifts back into sleep.  A little later I suggest a day out possible visiting Nottingham and Maureen prevaricates.

Now I am on the keyboard and I sneeze alerting Maureen to where I am.  She sees me and says: ‘I wondered where you were I thought you had left town -you don’t come and talk to me any more’.

There’s only one solution to all of this: let the music play.  Very soon YouTube will be blasting out some of Maureen’s favourites, and another day will begin on this ‘interesting journey’.  Singing always seems to have a positive impact on both of us, and this article from the Mayo Clinic  explains why.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

