Dementia: A Sky Blue Break

Saturday went well with antibiotics being taken without too much difficulty.  I gave Maureen breakfast in bed, while playing  YouTube in the background.  I continued with the musical input once she was downstairs and we watched excerpts from a couple of musicals.

We made lunch together: with Maureen peeling and chopping the ingredients for vegetable soup.  I slipped in beside her on the clearing up duties, and eased her away from the sink.  Her efforts at washing up were pretty fruitless but drying up didn’t pose any problems.

Maureen took to the sofa for a couple of hours after lunch, and on waking made for bed. She remained for the rest of the day and night.  I have taken her drinks up periodically, and kept her on schedule with medication.

These frequent trips up, and down, stairs take me back 40 years to the time I was giving ‘Bromptons Cocktail’, to Annette my 29 year old wife. Whenever, I feel jaded I count my blessings that Maureen is expected to live well beyond ‘the roses coming into bloom’: the prognosis at that time for Annette.  I am hoping that infection is behind Maureen’s lack of energy, and confusion, rather than a permanent dip in her presentation: only time will tell.

This afternoon I have some special time out.  Our social worker has kindly arranged additional care so  I can go to a local Club to watch Coventry City play Sheffield United on Sky Sports.  I hope those Blue Boys don’t let me down: I need something to give me a lift at the moment!

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: A Sky Blue Break

  1. Mary Smith says:

    Any infection caused dad to be more confused and sleepy. In fact, we could often tell he was starting with something by the extra confusion, even before the symptoms of an infection showed up.
    Hope you enjoyed the football and got the result you hoped for.

    Like

Leave a Reply

