Dementia: Good News from the NHS

I am pleased to report that nothing untoward was revealed by my procedure yesterday.  Maureen didn’t come along after all as she just couldn’t get ready in time.  However, I was well looked after by excellent nursing staff who eased me through a rather unpleasant procedure.  I elected for the spray at the back of the throat rather than a general anaethestic.  However  you still can feel them prodding around your digestive system during the examination.   Thankfully, I had some lovely nurses on hand to ease me through my discomfort, and wipe my furrowed brow.

On a previous occasion I had experienced  the same procedure at a small private hospital, that also carries out work for the NHS.  Yesterday’s experience was comparable to being in a private hospital.  I would give the Endoscopy Suite and all staff a five star rating.  They even  managed to prioritise aspects of my investigation, so that I could get back home as quickly as possible. I have passed on my thanks to all concerned, and will put similar comments in writing..

 

 

 

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

