Dementia: Professionalism, Empathy and Compassion

Within minutes, this morning, I came to the conclusion that our new social worker was the business.  One of my shortcomings is I make my mind up about people within the first few minutes of meeting them.  Sometimes, I get it wrong but I would put my money on Sue being just what we need.

I wouldn’t claim that I have a formula for sorting the wheat out from the chaff; it’s more of a gut feeling. Throughout the hour or so that we spent together Sue exuded, professionalism, empathy and compassion.  Perhaps what sealed it was when she said: ‘You are the expert here: you are on duty 24/7’.

I know I have a reputation for fighting my corner and often polarising things.  It’s my dad’s fault you see as I outlined in an earlier post – he taught us not to be pushed around.   However I know he loved both my mum and Maureen and would have said: ‘the ends justify the means’.

There is no way the sins of Sue’s sisters were going to be sorted out this morning.  That will be done in another place.  What I am pretty sure of is: this straight talking woman will deliver, and we will now get the support  we need.  I have no doubt whatsoever that I will now be able to be a person in my own right, as well as a Care Partner for Maureen.  It won’t be long dad before I am able to keep my promise that I made to you about mum.  You will also be pleased to know that I can become the ‘Old Man’ again to my own children.

Oops I nearly forgot Sue is going to complete a ‘My Life profile with Maureen.  That sealed it for me.  She is going to give Maureen the chance to tell her story.  S he wants to hear it ‘from the horses mouth’ not an edited version from a third-party.  I knew that all this DIY  is not needed.  Some social workers understand their role and the pressure Care Partners are under.  They don’t expect the likes of me to do their job for them!

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: Professionalism, Empathy and Compassion

  1. Wonderful. This is very good news.

    Like

    • Remember Me says:

      Indeed it is . I’m not getting carried away here. My professional role was in spotting and nurturing adults to help them find another chance at developing their ptential. Sue is a natural it will be great to be working with her. My battles have been tiring but worth it: no gain without pain.

      Like

Leave a Reply

