Dementia: ‘They Don’t Think I’m The Full Shilling’

Yesterday as I sat blogging I heard Maureen in fits of laughter in the next room.  It went on for some time, so I crossed the landing to see what had tickled her fancy.  Eventually, she stopped rolling about with laughter and told me of her cunning plan.   

She often thinks that people are trying to prove that she is mad.  Her reference to not being ‘the full shilling’ clearly came from the dreadful experience she had on Wednesday.  Once she stopped gigling away: she shared her plans.  She said:  ‘I am going to tell them there’s something really important they need to know about me’.  Then she revealed all : ‘I’m going to tell them I have got no knickers on’.  Sorry about the pun!

It would be really interesting to see what they made of that!

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dementia: ‘They Don’t Think I’m The Full Shilling’

  1. misifusa says:

    Giggling here too.

    Like

  2. Remember Me says:

    What a sense of humour Maureen has. She catches me out with her jokes many a time.

    Like

  3. Ha ha! So funny. I’m glad she had a good laugh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

