Dementia: Cometh Hour; Cometh The Woman

It would not be possible to ask for any more support than I have been given this morning.  Social services have delivered quality support, at very short notice.  Their response to me being ill and unable to keep Maureen safe has been exceptional.

Tracey our social has to be singled out for real praise for her achievements this morning.  How on earth she persuaded Maureen to go to a Day Centre, I will never know.  We are hoping that Maureen will go along with the same arrangements tomorrow.

I have to hold my hand up here.  Tracey has been trying for persuade me  to let her take Maureen to a Day Centre for ages.  If only I’d been braver things could have been very different a long time ago.  There’s none so blind as those who cannot see.

Woops: spoke too soon Maureen is demanding to be brought home and I need to fetch her.  She has been very angry, and distressed, during the phone call I have just taken.  Better get off now!

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dementia: Cometh Hour; Cometh The Woman

  1. misifusa says:

    I hope Maureen will go tomorrow as well and maybe begin to enjoy so you can have some rest. You deserve it. Hope you are feeling better.

    Like

  2. Oh no! I thought it had been worked out after the start of the post. Things change so quickly. I was happy to see, however, that Tracey made such a good effort to help. I hope things improve today, and that tomorrow will go better.

    Like

  3. Remember Me says:

    No she will never go there again: it is totallu unsuitable to her needs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

