Dementia: Two Mothers Remembered

My sister, Barbara, kindly forwarded this beautiful poem to me today.  She has sent it at such a good time: as I will be with my mum on Saturday.  I am sure that sons could be substituted for daughters to convey the same sentiments.

I hope my mum still recognises me after all this time.  It is doubtful that my brother will but he did say my name the last time I visited hin in his Nursing Home.

It will be interesting to see how they respond to music: Frank Sinatra for mum; Bill Hayley for John.   Mum will tap her feet I’m sure but I don’t expect John will be able to show how good he was jiving.  I wonder if he would take his wife by the hand if I take her along?  There’s only one way to find out.

I’m really looking forward to seeing them both.

Poem: Two Mothers Remembered

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: Two Mothers Remembered

  1. Jane says:

    Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating
    it but, I’d like to send you an email. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

