Dementia: Facing Carer-Burn Out?

This will be a very short post as I need to see my G P this morning.  I need some advice to help me improve my sleep pattern.  Although when your wife is confused over time that does not help.  Poertry recitals at 4 am in the morning are pleasant but not if it is difficult to get back to sleep afterwards.  One of my tasks this morning is to help Maureen trace the remaining verses of:  ‘I Remember’ or whatever it was she wanted to recite well before dawn.

My other problem is, once again, my digestive tract .  My saliva contained rather a lot of blood this morning.  I have to confess as soon as this, ongoing problem, goes away I forget to take the Gaviscon that was prescribed  a some time ago.

As I have mentioned before our Medical Centre has an excellent system for triage, and appointments.  It is reassuring that I know I will be seen this morning.  It looks like my body is trying to tell me something and significant carer burn-out is looming unless something is done pretty soon.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: Facing Carer-Burn Out?

  1. Is the poem “I Remember, I Remember” by Thomas Hood? Hope your visit to the doctor is helpful. As you know, you must make your own well-being a priority too.

    Like

    • Remember Me says:

      Yes that is the poem i found it earlier with a Google. The G P doesn’t suspect anything sinster but I am going to have the camera down my digetsive tract just as a precaution.

      Like

Leave a Reply

