Dementia: No More ‘Pussy-Footing’ Around

I am going to try another approach to getting some time off -respite- from my role as a Care Partner.  It is two months since I had a break, and then it took a threat to abandon Maureen before I got a chance to visit my family in Coventry.  This time I have given far more notice of my plans.

In the past my opportunities for organised respite have often been frustrated.  On occasions I have been let down at the last minute, and had to cancel travel and hotel bookings.  This has left me frustrated, and out of pocket.  It has also led to disappointment for family members who are beginning to question their status in my life.  I fully understand their concern, and upset.

Social services now have a couple more weeks to sort out Maureen’s care in my absence.  They will have to agree with her what is needed while I’m away from home.  I need a break, and to see members of my own family.  I plan to take my time off: it’s social services responsibility to ensure Maureen is cared for in my absence.

I look forward to receiving details of the arrangements that will be made while I’m away from home.  I will take legal advice if I feel the inaction of social services put Maureen’s or my welfare at risk.  I can see no other way forward.  I’m absolutely fed up with social services and our Care Agency passing the buck, and care not being available.  This ‘pussy-footing’ around needs to come to an end.

This is an early morning post because  we went to bed early.  I will be blogging about that, and Maureen going missing once again, later today

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dementia: No More ‘Pussy-Footing’ Around

  1. Dominique says:

    Paul you need to do what you need to do in order to take care of YOUR health as well as Maureen’s. Is it possible for one of Maureen’s children to look after her while you are away? I really hope you manage to sort something out. You need a break – just like I do. Take care – of yourself. X

    Like

  2. What an awfully frustrating situation. Social Services must pull together an acceptable plan in time, especially with the significant advance notice you have given, but it sounds like you have reason not to have confidence they will come through.

    Like

  3. Remember Me says:

    It is possible that they are stretched to the limit. We may also not be their highest priority in terms of need. However, I will be really fed up if they can’t help me get to see my own family this time, as they have had plenty of notice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

