Dementia: Not Again

There are times as a Care Partner, for a loved one with dementia, when you think it couldn’t get any worse.  Then it does, and you think it couldn’t get any worse.  Then it does.

This has been my experience today.  Once again our social worker is ill, and her Line Manager is on holiday.  So yet again no progress on my Carers’ Assessment.  This all makes me anxious about plans to visit family in a couple of weeks.  There has been a disconnect between the social worker and the Care Agency before, and I have had to cancel plans at the last minute.   They both blame each other, and I have been left frustrated and out of pocket.

Anna my middle daughter told me a while ago that she thought she had inherited my tendency for impatience.  I wonder if her nerve will hold, if I have to cancel on her yet again.  No such problems with my mum and brother.  Their dementia means they have probably  forgotten who I am, after not being able to get down to see them for so long.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dementia: Not Again

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about this delay! I do hope your social worker recovers quickly and that you won’t have to cancel.

    Like

  2. Remember Me says:

    I am not going to cancel. If they can’t arrange care for Maureen in my absence when I have given them more that a couple of weeks notice, there is something fundamantaaly wrong

    Like

Leave a Reply

