Dementia: I’m Missing You

Another early post with Maureen awake at 3 am, needing a drink.  

There is a recent novel: Elizabeth is Missing where the main character has dementia.  The story is about her efforts to  find her friend Elizabeth. Three people in my own family have dementia: Maureen, mum and my brother John are now missing.  Jimbo a frequent contributor to Talking Point, cleverly changed the words of a poem, Antigonish, by W H Mearns to expresses the associated agony like this:

Agony.
Yesterday upon the stair,
I saw my wife tho’ she wasn’t there.
She wasn’t there again today,
I wish she hadn’t gone away…

When I came home last night at three,
My wife was waiting there for me
But when I looked around the hall,
I couldn’t see her there at all!!

Last night I saw upon the stair,
My poor dear wife who wasn’t there,
She won’t be there again today
How I wish she’d not gone away…

Just to extend the my artistic licence this morning I am going to add a special piece of music to this Blog.  The choice is pertinent as it is UB 40 singing: I’m Missing You.  There’s no prizes for guessing the Band on the stage at the first concert Maureen and I ever went to together, at the NEC, in Birmingham.

The poem, and song, couldn’t express my feelings any better.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: I’m Missing You

  1. alijory says:

    So poignant Paul.

    Like

Leave a Reply

