Dementia: The Way Ahead

The next few Featured imagedays are important in our journey with dementia.  The appointment with our social worker on Friday morning will be the start of my Carers’ Assessment.   I need to take advice on how to develop a life alongside being a Care Partner. There are lots of aspects our lives that have fallen by the wayside, as we have grappled with the consequences of Maureen’s stroke and onset of dementia.

The following list outlines my current aspirations:

  • Visit family and friends on a regular basis
  • Plan holidays
  • Resume meditation classes
  • Resume tai chi classes
  • Return to ballroom dancing classes
  • Return to some form of painting and drawing
  • Attend some form of educational/interest group/class
  • Read more books and other publications
  • Improve my DIY skills
  • Resume involvement in the Labour Party
  • Continue with my attempts to improve the diagnosis and treatment of dementia

I am sure I may well revise this list in the next couple of days.  One thing for sure Cleethorpes is a lovely place to live, as you can see from my photo above of the sun rising over the Humber.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dementia: The Way Ahead

  1. tellthetruth1 says:

    That truly is a beautiful picture. Love scenes like that. Makes me wonder what camera you used?

    11 items on the list! I’m impressed 🙂

    Like

  2. Remember Me says:

    I’m a happy snapper had my camera, a Fujifilm E510, on auto setting. More luck than judgement that the photo turned out so well..

    Like

  3. Pingback: Hindsight is a Wonderful Luxury | Dealing with Dementia

Leave a Reply

