Dementia: ‘The New Reality’

I have mentioned before the words of a Consultant at the Memory Clinic following Maureen’s diagnosis: ‘You will have to get used to the new reality.’  At the time I hadn’t got a clue what he was talking about.  Eighteen months down the road and Maureen’s reality can be grasped from her words below:Featured image

  • ‘Other people keep moving my things from where I have left them.’
  • ‘Why do people have children if they can’t afford to buy them clothes.  Haven’t my parents got any money?’.
  • ‘Where is my mum?  Why doesn’t she come to see me?’
  • ‘Why don’t my children come to see me?  Don’t they know where we live?’
  • ‘Have any of my family ever been here to this house?’
  • ‘How do I know we are married?  Where is the Marriage Certificate and wedding photos?’
  • ‘Please tell me where we met?’
  • ‘Where are the other people who own this house?’
  • ‘Do the children know where we are going today?’
  • ‘Are you going to work today?’
  • ‘What day, time, month or year is it?’

The above list is only a snapshot of the new reality.

The Counsellor at our Medical Practice puts it in a nutshell.

Dementia means having no concept of PLACE, PERSON or TIME.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dementia: ‘The New Reality’

  1. How awfully disorienting and scary.

    Like

Leave a Reply

