Dementia: ‘I don’t believe it’.

I have chosen  YouTube footage of Victor Meldrew’s  to open this post: ‘I don’t believe it’.  Quite simply because there appears to be progress on the underwear crisis that has bugged Maureen since stroke.  Yesterday morning: no tears and an announcement that decent support and coverage was in place.  Quite unbelievable after the tears and upset that have been part of Maureen’s early morning routine for months.  I think it is worth explaining the team effort that has gone into solving this problem.

My efforts at solving the shortage of suitable underwear have been fun but unproductive.  I have been pleasantly surprised at the help I have received from female shop assistants as I have trespassed amongst the ladies undies.  My knowledge of the intimate detail of ‘unmentionables’ (as my mum used to call them) has blossomed as I have perused the hangers of most superstores.  I think it is possible that my white thatch has eased my way around those silky areas that are not normally familiar to men.  On the brink of giving up I asked Chloe, Maureen’s main carer, to intervene.  With just one mission she appears to have hit the jackpot; with just a little help from your truly.

Chloe has obviously sized Maureen well; as my efforts had never felt comfortable.  However, It is possible that I have played a key card to ease things along.  I not only washed the latest purchases before secluding them in Maureen’s undies drawer, I also used fabric conditioner to make them softer to her sensitive skin.   Another example of helpful advice from friends on Talking Point.   So teamwork may well have brought to an end the distress that became part of Maureen’s daily routine.  Only time will tell and I certainly hope I will be able to continue with my Victor Meldrew impressions.

NB: This is an early morning post as Maureen ‘camped out’ on the sofa last night.  I will explain all tomorrow.  Things are changing rapidly here and this is more than a little dip in her presentation.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

