Some sage advice sent my way…

Today’s blog from Kate makes a very salient point: I can’t expect everyone else to share my enthusiasm for improving the approach to dementia in North East Lincolnshire. That must not make me disillusioned or affect my enthusiasm from carrying out my own little campaign to improve things in this area.

Image via googleimages.com and leadingessentially.com Image via googleimages.com and leadingessentially.com

I’ve been feeling really overwhelmed, and in fact, like giving up blogging, FB, twitter and all of my advocacy. As usual, if one shuts up long enough to listen, the universe supports, and today I received some very sage advice:

“… honestly sometimes I think that with people with dementia that unless you give them specific things to complete, it is very hard for them to remember and to know what to do to help. I often experience some of the same problems and have such problems with time management and then when I work on things, it takes me so long to do things that used to take very little time that sometimes it can make you feel like giving up if you put too high of a demand on yourself.

So, my suggestion to you and this is just my idea, but I would suggest you prioritize what…

View original post 218 more words

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

