Dementia: Time To Sort Out My Sleep Pattern

This early morning awakening of mine needs sorting out.  I often wake around 3 or 4 in the morning  and find it difficult to get back to sleep.  This means that I feel washed out for most of the day and constantly hungry.  None of this is helpful to my caring role.  If I doze off Maureen might have taken herself off for a walk and I then have an anxious time trying to find her.

I have had periods like this before many times in my life.  Exhaustion can lead to lowering mood and that is the last thing I need at the moment.  I need to be on good form if I am to provide informed support to my wife.  Unfortunately, none of my normal strategies for bringing my sleep pattern under control have helped at the moment.  Some new Ideas have come from Talking Point and I will have a look at these in the next few days.

For the next few days I am going to reduce the time I spend on my computer and all other gadgets.  I am also going to resume Tai Chi and meditation.  So it will be a quieter spell on this Blog for a while:  I have to concentrate on improving  my sleep pattern.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

