Dementia: The Ever Changing Environment

What an irony  my earlier post sang the praises of Heather my Admiral Nurse – by lunch time I knew that I was about to be jilted.  During our chat this morning she mentioned that she is planning to emigrate.  Reading between the lines we will have one further date and then she will be off to warmer climes.  She will be a loss to this area, but one of the consequences of living in the sticks is that young able professional staff do not stay long.  One thing I have learned rapidly with dementia is that our environment is constantly changing.

Someone once suggested to me that fate had played a part in recent developments in my life.  Almost thirty years ago Coventry City Council were kind enough to second me to Warwick University to undertake a Masters Degree.  The nature of my studies could not have been more relevant to my current role: Continuing Education and the Management of Change.  On occasions I have considered continuing academic studies with a Doctorate and had preliminary discussions with Hull University a couple of years ago.  I eventually decided against furthering my academic development for a number of reasons.  However, i often think that with enlightened supervision I could write up my current experiences and gain further initials to my name.

Within the last couple of years I regained contact with Tom Schuller my supervisor in my year at Warwick.  As he said when I eventually tracked him down via the Net : ‘I remember you’.  Last year we met up again in London during a visit to see up  two of my daughters.  Tom was a great supervisor and is a lovely man: we still exchange by E Mail: often about the plight of our football teams.

During my year at Warwick I never thought that fate may have been playing a part in my life.  Continuing Education and the Management of Change; sums up my caring role in a nutshell.  Thank goodness for all the Tom’s in the world who continue to play their part in supporting us carers.   Tom just happened to mention, during our last exchange, he had been reading book called ‘Musicphillia’ by Oliver Sack that I might find helpful.  I had chatted to him previously about how music had become an important part of Maureen’s life since the onset of dementia   Some style about that man: still practicing sound adult education techniques, suggesting relevant reading material to his ex students, even after almost 30 years have passed.

About Remember Me

I am a retired adult educator. My wife had a stroke in February 2014 and now has mixed dementia. Her recovery from stroke has been exceptional apart from 50% loss of peripheral vision and vascular damage. 'Dharma For Dementia' is my approach to being Maureem's Care Partner: it aims to end the suffering of 'Prescribed Disengagement' (Swaffer) .
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

